Event Management System @ CurlingZone.com

 Click to return to the CCR Home Page


 LOGIN:          PASS:
 

forget your password?
 
CurlingZone : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.6 CurlingZone > Chat Forums > General Curling Chat > The Pit > Rule clarification please
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Alancurlmwcc
Knee-Slider

Registered: Mar 2014
Location:
Posts: 1

Rule clarification please

I had this game where the third on the opposing team threw 3 rocks leaving 1 for the skip during a game. Rule from CCA states

If a player on a four player team delivers three stones in one end, except as
provided for in Rule 5(6), the end shall continue and the fourth player on the
offending team shall deliver only one stone in that end.

The problem is there does not seem to be a penalty when it is the third that does it.

So if my third is hot and and I am cold I could get him to play 3 rocks and I throw the last rock?????

What is the penalty please anyone

Thank you

Alan

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 03-16-14 05:29PM
Alancurlmwcc is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Alancurlmwcc Click here to Send Alancurlmwcc a Private Message Find more posts by Alancurlmwcc Add Alancurlmwcc to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Unregistered
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

Alan,

I am not a certified referee and perhaps one could confirm my post.

No, there is no penalty if this happens. You could in theory benefit by having the hot third throw three rocks ''by mistake''.

This is not hockey. We don't need referees to catch us at fault and send us away in the corner for two minutes like we do with undisciplined children.

Curling is a gentlemen's game. Please refer to the sportsmanship section of your rule book.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: 184.161.86.186

Old Post 03-16-14 09:01PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
alancurlmwcc
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

Rule clarification Please

It is what I suspected

Thank you very much Unregistered

Alan

Report this post to a moderator | IP: 24.203.62.160

Old Post 03-16-14 10:00PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RockDoc
Swing Artist

Registered: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 399

quote:
Originally posted by Unregistered
Alan,

I am not a certified referee and perhaps one could confirm my post.

No, there is no penalty if this happens. You could in theory benefit by having the hot third throw three rocks ''by mistake''.

This is not hockey. We don't need referees to catch us at fault and send us away in the corner for two minutes like we do with undisciplined children.

Curling is a gentlemen's game. Please refer to the sportsmanship section of your rule book.



Having said that, it is likely that the opposing team will catch the error before the stone is delivered. If you try to have a player deliver 3 stones deliberately, then you are violating the spirit of curling, which "influence[s] both the interpretation and the application of the rules of the game and also the conduct of all participants on and off the ice."

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 03-20-14 11:20AM
RockDoc is offline Click Here to See the Profile for RockDoc Click here to Send RockDoc a Private Message Find more posts by RockDoc Add RockDoc to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
AlanMacNeill
Super Rockchucker

Registered: Sep 2011
Location:
Posts: 1064

(Different Alan)

I am an official, but this is not an official ruling (please understand the difference )

It is correct that there is no penalty in the book beyond "Skip only throws one". However, the clause relating to deliberately acting against the spirit of curling gives latitude to remedy extreme poor sportsmanship situations.

The first time a team had the third deliver three, oops, stuff happens and the penalty in the book is that the skip throws just one...move on. If opposing skip calls it out to me, I would inform them of this remedy and there's not much else I can or should do.

The second time, when the opposing team's skip made notice of it, I'd tell the offending team's skip that they really need to keep closer attention, because they're making the same mistake over and over and it's really unfair to the other team. Keep in mind that officials really aren't there to "call fouls", they are there to intermediate disputes, and a polite "Dude...really?" to the offending skip is the appropriate resolution at this stage.

The third time (again, assuming the offended team protested), I would refer a recommendation to the Chief Umpire of the Event for sanctions, potentially including pulling players from the game for violating the spirit of curling rule. See page 33 of the current WCF rules (C10.g: The Chief Umpire may eject a player, coach or team official from a game for what is considered to be unacceptable conduct or language. The ejected person must leave the competition area and take no further part in that game. When a player is ejected from a game, an alternate player may not be used in that game, for that player.)

If I were the Chief Umpire of the Event...the Third would be getting to take a seat in the warm room for a while on the 3rd violation.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 03-20-14 01:01PM
AlanMacNeill is offline Click Here to See the Profile for AlanMacNeill Click here to Send AlanMacNeill a Private Message Find more posts by AlanMacNeill Add AlanMacNeill to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is . Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON